Home

Directional Hitting - MLB The Show 18

This is a discussion on Directional Hitting - MLB The Show 18 within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
EA Sports College Football 25 Gameplay Deep Dive
Operation Sports Is Looking to Hire a Freelancer Specializing in Racing Games
Is Caitlin Clark in NBA 2K24?

Old 02-09-2018, 08:55 AM   #1
MVP

El_MaYiMbE's Arena

OVR: 10
Directional Hitting - MLB The Show 18

Although the stream was a little boring as some people mentioned, I believe we got to see a lot of the common problems with the series addressed:

1. Hitting
2. Catcher Urgency
3. Pitcher Urgency
4. Tagging
5. Not really mentioned, but graphics looked improved when compared to '17

Hitting to me has been the biggest problem with MLB The Show since I started playing the series back in 2012 or 2013. I have posted many times on OS how I feel like something is just "off" but I could never quite put my finger on it.

It seems like the devs have made a huge effort this year to both correct hitting and explain why you may or may not be getting the results you want on a consistent basis, which is great.

However, I feel like their explanation was concentrated solely on PCI placement and Zone Hitting. I have also talked extensively on OS as to why I prefer Directional Hitting, and how I feel it better emulates a hitter's natural reaction to hitting a baseball when compared to Zone.

So I am hoping either via OS or in one of their upcoming streams they discuss how the PCI placement is determined when using Directional Hitting. Directional Hitting basically positions the PCI in its optimal location (game's opinion) based on the direction you press the stick, but how does it determine if more of the center of the PCI should be on the ball (line drive) or if more of the top (pop-up) or bottom (grounder) should be on the ball?